8 Steps To Become a Yogi:8 Limbs Of Yoga

by | Jun 14, 2021 | Yoga | 2 comments

8 Steps To Become a Yogi:8 Limbs Of Yoga

Yoga is the process to resolve the fluctuation and disturbances of the mind. we know all the time our mind is filled with fear, anger, jealousy, irritation, worry, etc.

using yoga practice the up and down movement of the mind gets settled and it becomes tranquil, motionless, and one-pointed. So when the mind becomes tranquil then the practitioner can elevate into higher levels of consciousness.

Yoga Definition:

The root meaning of yoga is “to unite”.The union between mind, body, and soul is the basic aim of yoga; the merging of individual consciousness with universal consciousness.

Modern Definition:

Modern yoga is primarily associated with the physical movement called asanas. the basic aim of the asana practice is to build strength and stamina, to improve flexibility, coordination, and balance, and relax the body.

Patanjali’s Eight Fold Path:

According to sage, Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra describes the Eight Fold Path or we can say Eight Limbs of Yoga. The first sentence of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra is ‘Yogas-Chitta-Vritti-Nirodha’, which means—Yoga is the stopping of the movement or the disturbances or vibrations of the mind-stuff. 

1.Yama :

These branches starting with Yama Niyamas and ending with Samadhi.

Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra lists the five Yamas that indicate moral restriction on how to behave externally with other beings.

  • Ahimsa Non-Violence, Freedom from Harming
  • Satya Truthfulness
  • Asteya Non-Stealing, Freedom from Stealing
  • Brahmacharya Moderation
  • Aparigraha Non-Hoarding, Freedom from Grasping


Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra lists the five Niyamas, which shows how to conduct in day-to-day life.

  • Saucha Cleanliness
  • Santosha Contentment
  • Tapas Self Discipline
  • Svadhyaya Self Study
  • Isvara-pranidhana Surrender


Asanas indicate all physical exercises.


Pranayama is the breathing exercise to control the flow of prana or life force energy in our system.


Pratyahara means withdrawal of the senses


Dharana indicates the single-pointed concentration


The almost equivalent English word of dhyana is meditation.


Samadhi indicates the merging of individual consciousness with universal or divine consciousness.


The ultimate aim of the yoga practice is to ascend into higher levels of consciousness or altered states of consciousness. the mind becomes calm and quiet, independent of any external stimuli. eventually, the ordinary man becomes a superman!

Check Out These Related Posts

Why Should We Do Yoga Nidra?

Why Should We Do Yoga Nidra?

Yoga Nidra Defintion: Yoga Nidra is defined as the yogic sleep or dynamic sleep in between wakefulness and dreaming state. How to practice: Yoga Nidra is is a guided meditation technique that involves conscious, systematic relaxation, and breath awareness and it is...

read more
7 Benefits of Yoga

7 Benefits of Yoga

The term yoga is defined as the union between body, mind, and soul. yoga is not confined to a single religion, rather than it's a way of living. The primary aim of yoga is to calm down the disturbances of the mind and gets tranquility and peacefulness. The benefits of...

read more



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ying and yang

Subscribe To My Newsletter

Join my mailing list to receive the latest news and updates about the yoga and meditation program.

You have Successfully Subscribed!